Holbrook Fire Department - Suffolk County, New York

2014 Incidents
Fire EMS
Jan 48 173
Feb 54 125
Mar 58 144
Apr 45 118
May 40 146
Jun 41 130
Jul 0 0
Aug 0 0
Sep 0 0
Oct 0 0
Nov 0 0
Dec 0 0
Total 286 836

Past Incidents
Fire EMS
2013 612 1514
2012 736 1480
2011 620 1518
2010 694 1448
2009 671 1471

Web Counters
Website Visitors
March 10, 2010
Visitors Today
Jul 31, 2014

Holbrook Fire District

Board of Fire Commissioners


Joel Vetter
(Chairman Of The Board)
Mike Barhold
Joseph Williams
Mike Tarantino
Charles Vermilyea
District Manager
(Thomas Pelio)
Ron Schnall
(District Treasurer)

District meetings are held on the first Thursday following the second Tuesday of the month

History of The Holbrook Fire District

     In July 1932, formal notice was submitted to town officials for a hearing on the proposal to create a fire district. On September 21 of that year, after the creation of the fire district, the property and equipment of the volunteer fire company was reassigned to the newly elected Board of Fire Commissioners.Our first fire commissioners were, as per the original resolution: Henry Heine, Chairman; Fred Benesch, Sr., Vice Chairman; Charles Gearing, Secretary; John Wesemann, Gustave Johnson, and George Raff. Their first meeting was on the evening of Thursday,September 1, 1932 at the firehouse. The Board of Fire Commissioners prepared a budget for 1932-33, to be submitted to the legal voters at a meeting to be held Wednesday evening, September 14, 1932, as follows;
1. -$150.00 for repairs and maintenance.
2. -$200.00 for equipment and supplies.
3. -$60.00 for light and fuel.
4. -$50.00 for stationary, election expense and miscellaneous items.


What is a fire district?

A fire district is a separate unit of local government that is established for the purpose of providing fire protection and response to emergencies. A fire district need not have its own firefighters or equipment; it can contract with a neighboring municipality or district.

Fire districts are not necessarily coterminous with towns. They may span several towns or portions of towns, and a town may contain parts of multiple fire districts. In addition, the governing boards of one or more towns and one or more villages may form a joint fire district. If a joint district is formed, the municipal governing boards must adopt a local law dissolving any existing fire, fire alarm or fire protection districts contained within the joint fire district. A fire district is created, extended, or dissolved by a town board. However, such changes must be at the request of a majority of the fire district commissioners or land-owning resident taxpayers of the district, and is subject to permissive referendum. Details on how such changes may occur are in the Department of State’s publication on fire protection consolidation.

A fire district is overseen by an elected board of commissioners composed of five members serving five year terms. (The fire commissioners in joint fire districts may be elected or appointed.) The Office of the State Comptroller (OSC) reports that there are 867 fire districts, an increase of 20 districts in the past 20 years. The commissioners appoint the members of the fire companies within the fire district, and may provide for the removal of those members for cause. They also organize, operate, maintain and equip fire companies.

Website Designed and Hosted By: Content Proudly Maintained By: Contact Info:
Firehouse Solutions
Holbrook Fire Department
390 Terry Blvd.
Holbrook, N.Y. 11741

Emergency Dial 911
Non-Emergency: 631-588-0099
Station Fax: 631-588-0136
E-mail: Info@holbrookfd.org
Copyright © 2014 Firehouse Solutions (A Service of Technology Reflections, Inc.)